The Davenport Public Library has access to business eBooks. You can find them in the catalog by searching for business and then limiting your search to ebooks. It helps if you limit your search to nonfiction.
You can also find business eBooks on the Libby app.
Business Adventures remains the best business book I've ever read." ?Bill Gates, The Wall Street Journal What do the $350 million Ford Motor Company disaster known as the Edsel, the fast and incredible rise of Xerox, and the unbelievable scandals at General Electric and Texas Gulf Sulphur have in common? Each is an example of how an iconic company was defined by a particular moment of fame or notoriety; these notable and fascinating accounts are as relevant today to understanding the intricacies of corporate life as they were when the events happened. Stories about Wall Street are infused with drama and adventure and reveal the machinations and volatile nature of the world of finance. Longtime New Yorker contributor John Brooks's insightful reportage is so full of personality and critical detail that whether he is looking at the astounding market crash of 1962, the collapse of a well-known brokerage firm, or the bold attempt by American bankers to save the British pound, one gets the sense that history repeats itself. Five additional stories on equally fascinating subjects round out this wonderful collection that will both entertain and inform readers . . . Business Adventures is truly financial journalism at its liveliest and best.
The fifth edition of Business Ethics addresses current, intriguing, often complex issues in corporate morality through 53 readings and 30 pertinent case studies. Now significantly updated, it includes new leading articles, related current cases, and mini-cases based on MBA student dilemmas. Addresses a broad range of the most current, intriguing, often complex issues and cases in corporate morality Provides impartial, point-counterpoint presentations of different perspectives on the most important and highly contended issues of business ethics Updated and significant case studies are included to reinforce student learning Now contains mini-cases based on actual MBA student dilemmas Each author has substantial experience in teaching, writing, and conducting research in the field The EPUB format of this title may not be compatible for use on all handheld devices.
How leaders can use the right story at the right time to inspire change and action. This revised and updated edition of the best-selling book A Leader's Guide to Storytelling shows how storytelling is one of the few ways to handle the most important and difficult challenges of leadership: sparking action, getting people to work together, and leading people into the future. Using myriad illustrative examples and filled with how-to techniques, this book clearly explains how you can learn to tell the right story at the right time.
"Wise, practical, and profitable letters to entrepreneurs, leaders, managers, and business owners in every field--from a leading executive, investor, and business founder"
Too many business plans focus on the details most important to the managers or business owners writing them. . . and fail to address the questions most crucial to potential backers. This immensely practical and eminently readable book shows readers how to create a business plan that speaks directly to investors and lenders and makes it easy for them to say yes. Featuring case studies and examples of both what to do and what not to do, the book reveals how to: Include the vital information backers need, while leaving out extraneous filler that gets in the way Address key factors such as market demand, competition, and strategy Spell out the essence of your business proposition Outline resources and financial forecasts Assess risk from the backer's perspective Evaluate and improve the plan to ensure its success With the easy-to-follow guidance in The Standout Business Plan, now anyone can present a clear, concise, and convincing case that will win them the funding they need to succeed.
The ChatGPT Revolution is the ultimate quick-start guide to unlocking the power of AI tool ChatGPT. We’re on the edge of an AI revolution… but what does that mean for you? It’s time to get curious about how the latest tech can help you handle your everyday load, at work and at home! Whether you’re overwhelmed by repetitive, time-consuming tasks or you’re simply looking for a fresh injection of creativity, ChatGPT is the virtual assistant that’s got your back.
With this essential handbook, you’ll learn how quickly and easily ChatGPT can turn your to-do list into a ta-da list. From helping you write emails and reports to planning your next meal or vacation, ChatGPT offers a new way to simplify your daily tasks and responsibilities. The ChatGPT Revolution shows you exactly how to use this innovative tech to save on time and stress. Sharing practical tips and fun ideas, author and acclaimed productivity expert Donna McGeorge unpacks everything you need to know.
Whether you’re a busy professional or you simply want an answer to the dreaded question ‘What’s for dinner?,’ The ChatGPT Revolution reveals how you can use ChatGPT as a tool to simplify your life. AI technologies are here to stay: this is your invitation to join the revolution. Pick up this book and learn how to harness the power of AI, so you can free up more time and energy for the things that truly matter.
Gathers quotations by the noted computer developer and entrepreneur on such topics as getting started, business, leadership, innovation, rivals and associates, technology, drive, his legacy, and life in general.
A must-have guide for writing at work, with practical applications for getting your point across quickly, coherently, and efficiently. A winning combination of how-to guide and reference work, The Only Business Writing Book You'll Ever Need addresses a wide-ranging spectrum of business communication with its straightforward seven-step method. These easy-to-follow steps save you time from start to finish, and helpful checklists will boost your confidence as they keep you on track. You'll learn to promote yourself and your ideas clearly and concisely—whether putting together a persuasive project proposal or dealing with daily email. Laura Brown's supportive, no-nonsense approach to business writing is thoughtfully adapted to the increasingly digital corporate landscape. She provides practical tips and comprehensive examples for all the most popular forms of communication, including slide presentations, résumés, cover letters, web copy, and a thorough guide to the art of crafting e-mails and instant messages. Insightful sidebars from experts in various fields demystify the skills of self-editing, creating content, and overcoming writer's block, and Brown's reference-ready resources on style, punctuation, and grammar will keep your writing error-free. Nuanced, personable, and of-the-moment, The Only Business Writing Book You'll Ever Need offers essential tools for success in the rapidly changing world of business communication.
James Clear, an expert on habit formation, reveals practical strategies that will teach you how to form good habits, break bad ones, and master the tiny behaviors that lead to remarkable results. He draws on proven ideas from biology, psychology, and neuroscience to create an easy-to-understand guide for making good habits inevitable and bad habits impossible.
ChatGPT For Dummies demystifies the artificial intelligence tool that can answer questions, write essays, and generate just about any kind of text it's asked for. This powerful example of generative AI is widely predicted to upend education and business. In this book, you'll learn how ChatGPT works and how you can operate it in a way that yields satisfactory results. You'll also explore the ethics of using AI-generated content for various purposes. Written by a journalist who's been on the front lines of artificial intelligence for over a decade, this book dives deep into ChatGPT's potential, so you can make informed decisions-without asking ChatGPT for help
A must-have guide for writing at work, with practical applications for getting your point across quickly, coherently, and efficiently. A winning combination of how-to guide and reference work, The Only Business Writing Book You'll Ever Need addresses a wide-ranging spectrum of business communication with its straightforward seven-step method. These easy-to-follow steps save you time from start to finish, and helpful checklists will boost your confidence as they keep you on track. You'll learn to promote yourself and your ideas clearly and concisely—whether putting together a persuasive project proposal or dealing with daily email. Laura Brown's supportive, no-nonsense approach to business writing is thoughtfully adapted to the increasingly digital corporate landscape. She provides practical tips and comprehensive examples for all the most popular forms of communication, including slide presentations, résumés, cover letters, web copy, and a thorough guide to the art of crafting e-mails and instant messages. Insightful sidebars from experts in various fields demystify the skills of self-editing, creating content, and overcoming writer's block, and Brown's reference-ready resources on style, punctuation, and grammar will keep your writing error-free. Nuanced, personable, and of-the-moment, The Only Business Writing Book You'll Ever Need offers essential tools for success in the rapidly changing world of business communication.
Written for people who are old enough to know who they are, what they want, and what skills they are best at, this guide shows exactly how to build a successful and profitable business. Older people are among the world's most successful entrepreneurs with a wealth of in-depth experience, education, and mature judgment that younger people can't match; they also care more about creating financial security and doing what they want. Business consultant and serial entrepreneur Robert Bly teaches how to find the right home business opportunity; determine the target market for that business; sell the right product to the market at a profit; manage the business without wasting time; effectively market the business; comply with all laws, regulations, and taxes for the business; and generate enough income for retirement. Covering every aspect of building a successful business, not just the broad outlines, this book also provides senior-oriented information on computer equipment, the Internet, and social media marketing.
Companies especially more complex organizations require standard, documented processes and procedures to achieve high levels of quality and productivity. Too few, and inefficiency ensues; too many, and creativity is stifled. Yet it can be difficult to find training on process improvement and the range of complicated tools available could make even the most experienced professional's head spin. Successful Business Process Management fills the gap, providing a succinct, accessible overview of the field. Step-by-step instructions explain how to: Overcome resistance and apathy to standard procedures Take a systematic rather than ad hoc approach to process management Design key processes and capture them in documented procedures Revise existing processes when feasible Roll out the changes so people know what to do Embed them in the organization for reliable outcomes Process management serves as a structural framework for streamlining activities and creating smooth workflows. Get it right neither overly rigid nor underdeveloped and an outflow of continuous improvements will drive long-term success.