National History Day: Wars

Black Hawk and the Black Hawk War

Black Hawk’s Autobiography

Black Hawk War, 1831-1832; V.II, letter & papers (archive.org)

Hunting a shadow, the search for Black Hawk; an eye-witness account 973.56 Hun (not in SC)

Lincoln and the Blackhawk War (SC973.56)

Keokuk City Directory for 1856-57 containing a general directory of the citizens, with statistical and other useful local information; also a sketch of the Black Hawk war and history of the half breed tract (SC Fiche 977.799 Cle)

Civil War

U.S. Army Veteran Reserve Corps (Invalid Corps)

 – Company Descriptive Book Veteran Reserve Corps 4th Regiment. Company K. (SC355.37 Com)

     Camp Roberts/Camp Kinsman (grounds of Annie Witt)

Dakota War/Sioux Uprising in Minnesota-Camp McClellan/Camp Kearney

                Outbreak and massacre by the Dakota Indians in Minnesota

Rock Island Arsenal Confederate Prison Camp

               Rock Island arsenal: in peace and in war. With maps and illus. Tillinghast, Benjamin Franklin. (SC 353.6 Til)

               War of the Rebellion series

               Diary of Lafayette Rogan-POW at Rock Island Prison Barracks (SC973.782 Rog)

               Prisons and Prisoners:  A Study of Illinois Civil War Prisons. P. Samuel Whitehead (SC973.77 Whi)

Davenport’s Civil War Rendezvous Camps

Unpublished manuscript on Iowa’s Civil War Camps

Daughters of Union Veterans of Civil War (Acc#1994-02)

August Wentz Post No. 1 Grand Army of the Republic

                                Ephemera

                                Microfilm

Under the Guns (Annie Wittenmyer)

Roster and Register of Iowa Soldiers in the War of the Rebellion

War of the Rebellion series

Various autobiographies and contemporary accounts

AncestryLibrary subscription database; Fold3 subscription database

John Vale, Davenport resident for years, Congressional Medal of Honor winner in 1897 for actions in 1863 as Private in the Infantry

Iowa Regiments - Enlistment Papers – microfilmed and indexed

WWI     

Draft Registration Cards on Ancestry Library and on Microfilm in SC for IA & IL

Fold3 subscription database

WWII/Korea

Oral Histories-additional collateral items

Autobiographies/Memoirs (SC 940.3 to 940.9)

Newspapers

Microfilm of newspaper clippings at SHSI-some online at Iowa Heritage Digital Collections

Diary from Philippines (SC 940.540 Mor)

Hero Street (WWII, Korea) in Silvis, IL

2002-15 Everett Geurink Civil War manuscript. Manuscript of book on history of Iowa's Civil War Camps and supporting research material. 2 records center cartons, 1 flat box. Rg. 41 Sec. 1

1994-02 Daughters of Union Veterans of the Civil War. Finding aid available. 1 archive box; 3 bound volumes. Rg. 37 Sec.2

Iowa's Civil War Rendezvous Camps, 1861-1866. A study by James E. Jacobsen. Rg. 2 Sec. 1