Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Blood of Emmett Till, The by
Call Number: 364.134 TYSON TIM
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
"The event that launched the civil rights movement--the 1955 lynching of young Emmett Till--now reexamined by an award-winning author with access to never-before-heard accounts from those involved as well as recently recovered court transcripts from the trial,"--NoveList.
Invisible Hawkeyes by
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
By looking at the University of Iowa and a smaller midwestern college town like Iowa City, this collection reveals how fraught moments of interracial collaboration, meritocratic advancement, and institutional insensitivity deepen our understanding of America's painful conversion into a diverse republic committed to racial equality.
Life upon These Shores by
Call Number: 973.0496073 GAT
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
Henry Louis Gates, Jr., gives us a sumptuously illustrated, landmark book tracing African American history from the arrival of the conquistadors to the election of Barack Obama. Informed by the latest, sometimes provocative scholarship, and including more than eight hundred images--ancient maps, art, documents, photographs, cartoons, posters--Life Upon These Shores focuses on defining events, debates, and controversies, as well as the achievements of people famous and obscure. Gates takes us from the sixteenth century through the ordeal of slavery, from the Civil War and Reconstruction through the Jim Crow era and the Great Migration; from the civil rights and black nationalist movements through the age of hip-hop on to the Joshua generation.
March Against Fear, The by
Publication Date: 2017-01-03
Critically acclaimed author Ann Bausum brings this crucial turning point of civil rights history back to life, escorting you along the dusty Mississippi roads where heroic marchers endured violence, rage, and fear as they walked more than 200 miles in the name of equality and justice."--Provided by publisher.
Say It Loud by
Call Number: 973.0496 ELL
Publication Date: 2010-08-31
Resources from the Web
Civil Rights Resource Guide from the Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material related to civil rights, including photographs, documents, and sound recordings. This guide compiles links to civil-rights resources throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on civil rights and a bibliography containing selections for both general and younger readers.
The Civil Rights Era: from the Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
Online exhibits including:
Part 1: desegregation and Civil Rights in the Arena and On Stage.
Part 2: Sit-ins, Freedom Rides, and Demonstrations
Civil Rights Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy. The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. The CRDL provides educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, delivering engaging online articles and multimedia.
Civil Rights Movement Veterans This link opens in a new window
A robust collection of photographs, articles, speeches, campaign fliers, legal briefs, nonviolence, and so much more documenting the Civil Rights Movement.
Black Power Movement This link opens in a new window
The progress made by African Americans in the 1950s and early 1960s at achieving their civil rights was compromised by violence. Frankly, many young blacks rejected the courage and patience displayed by Dr. Martin Luther King in his non-violent response to injustice in American society.
The epitome of the Black Power Movement was the Black Panther Party. Founded by Huey P. Newton, Bobby Seale and others, this party justified the use of violence in the accomplishment of black justice. Newton and Seale were harassed by police and Newton was convicted of killing a policeman.
Africana Age This link opens in a new window
Includes several online exhibits that include: essays, maps, photographs, and other multimedia formats from the New York Public Library. See the section entitled "Civil Rights Movement".
YOUNG READERS: JUVENILE & TEEN
Rosa Parks and the Montgomery Bus Boycott by
Call Number: J323.092 KE
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
This title will inform readers about Rosa Parks and the Montgomery Bus Boycott, others who were involved, like Martin Luther King Jr., the Supreme Court's decision to desegregate public buses, and the national civil rights movement to follow. Vivid details, well-chosen photographs, and primary sources bring this story and this case to life."--
Beyond Slavery by
Call Number: J 323.1196 BYERS ANN
Publication Date: 2016-07-15
Really free? 1865-1866 -- Freedom is not equality: 1865-1877 -- Separate is not equal: 1877-1915 -- Accomplishment is not equality: 1915-1941 -- Gaining ground: 1941-1965 -- Exercising power: 1966-1972 -- Are we there yet?: beyond 1972.
Speech, Media, and Protest by
Call Number: J 323.443 PAULY ROB
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Discusses how the freedom of speech and expression are a vital part of any democracy.
Article & Newspaper Resources
Scholarly Articles from Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Make sure to check off the "scholarly/peer reviewed" box on the lefthand sidebar under "Limit to".
Access Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
NewspaperARCHIVE is the world's best resource for historical and genealogical information. Our unique archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more. Explore your family tree and discover your history at NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the world's largest online newspaper archive.
Goes back to the 1700s!!
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Search for someone in particular or browse by category!
Encyclopedia Brittanica Online This link opens in a new window
3 different search features: children, young adult, and reference center!!
ERIC -- premier Education database This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This resource allows you to search across dozens of essential reference resources available in e-book format. The topics covered include: Arts, History, Law, Literature, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, Science, and Social Studies.
Masterfile Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,100 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975.