Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Research 101 at the Davenport Public Library: Home

A guide to aid students and information seekers on the building blocks of research .

Davenport Public Library

Rivershare Catalog

Research Sources at the Davenport Public Library

Library Databases accessible via Research Tools on the Davenport Public Library's homepage are accessible to Davenport Public Library card holders. https://www.davenportlibrary.com/research-tools/online-resources

newspaper_archive.png

Access Newspaper Archive - (In-House Use Only)

Access NewspaperARCHIVE contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. Your gateway to search, view, save, and print full-page historical newspapers online.

acclaim_ip.png

AcclaimIP

AcclaimIP provides a user-friendly interface to search United States patent records. As Iowa's Patent and Trademark Resource Center, the Davenport Public Library can provide all Iowa users access to this resource. To use, please contact our Reference Department.

americas_newspapers.png

America's Newspapers

Local, regional and national U.S. newspapers, providing unique coverage of local and regional news, companies, industries, politics, cultural activities, and people in the community.

brainfuse.png

BrainFuse: Adult Learning Center, JobNow, and VetNow

Provides test preparation resources for adult learners, including GED, HiSet, TASC, and US Citizenship practice tests. Live job coaching available Monday-Sunday from 12:00-10:00 p.m. Live veteran support available Monday-Friday from 1:00-9:00 p.m.

reference_library.png

Gale Virtual Reference Library

This resource allows you to search across dozens of essential reference resources available in e-book format. The topics covered include: Arts, History, Law, Literature, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, Science, and Social Studies.

masterfile_premier.png

MasterFILE Premier

Access full-text journals and magazines, primary source documents, photos, and maps from over 1,500 general interest periodicals. Print, e-mail or download articles from titles like: Consumer Reports, Journal of Educational Psychology, Kiplinger's Personal Finance Magazine, The Atlantic, Newsweek, and more.

novelist.png

NoveList

NoveList is the premier readers’ advisory resource. Whether you need to find the next book in a series or find an author who is just like your favorite, find your next book at NoveList.

quad_city_times.png

Quad City Times

The Quad-City Times Newspaper index from 2003-present.

 patent_and_trademark.png

United States Patent and Trademark Office

The Davenport Public Library is designated as a depository under the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Click on the link to access the USPTO website to start your search.

digital_image_archive.png

Upper Mississippi Valley Digital Image Archive

An extensive collection of digitized photos from the local Quad-Cities area, ca. 1880s - 1970s.