Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Learning & Literacy Collection (including Homeschooling) Resources: Home

This collection will be especially helpful to parents, tutors, and homeschoolers.

Learning & Literacy Collection

Welcome, learners. You'll find a variety of useful tools here, including for homeschooling, but also so much more...

Learning & Literacy Collection

Learning & Literacy Collection materials are located at all three of our branches:

  • at Eastern between the Large Print books and Playaways. You'll find mostly homeschooling and study guides here.
  • at Fairmount on a freestanding shelf to your left when facing the fireplace.You'll find mostly outdoor and reluctant reader materials here.
  • at Main in the stacks as you walk toward the teen area from the service desk.This is our largest selection, where you'll find a little bit of everything. Explore the tabs above for more details. 

What is the Learning & Literacy Collection?

The Learning & Literacy Collection contains materials that are not easily confined in either the adult, young adult, or juvenile collections. You can find guidance here on many topics that can be difficult to talk about such as abuse, death, mental health, and sex education. Career information can be found here, as well as materials on homeschooling and outdoor education. There are also materials to help educate and motivate reluctant teen readers. Because the Learning & Literacy Collection covers such a wide array of topics, I created this LibGuide to help you better navigate the collection. Additionally, you can do a "browse" search in the catalog for Call Number "LC" or stop by any of our locations to have a look in person. It's a one-stop shop for materials to educate, inform, and improve yourself.

Librarian