Skip to Main Content

Learning & Literacy Collection (including Homeschooling) Resources

This collection will be especially helpful to parents, tutors, and homeschoolers.

Welcome to the Learning & Literacy Collection (LC) Libguide

Welcome, learners. You'll find a variety of useful tools here, including for homeschooling, but also so much more!

 

What is the Learning & Literacy Collection?

Merriam Webster defines literacy as "the quality or state of...having knowledge or competence." The Learning & Literacy Collection exists to help our diverse community be competent in navigating the world. It contains materials that are not easily confined in either the adult, young adult, or juvenile collections. You can find guidance here on many topics that can be difficult to talk about such as abuse, death, mental health, sex education, and more. Career information can be found here, as well as materials on homeschooling, outdoor education, and life skills. There are also materials to help educate and entertain reluctant teen readers. Because the Learning & Literacy Collection covers such a rich array of topics, I created this LibGuide to help you better navigate the collection. Click the tabs to start browsing or do a "browse" search in the catalog for Call Number "LC." Please stop by any of our locations to have a look in person. It's a one-stop shop for materials to educate, inform, and improve yourself.

Learning & Literacy Collection

Learning & Literacy Collection materials are located at all three of our branches:

  • at Eastern between the Large Print books and Playaways. You'll find mostly homeschooling and study guides here.
  • at Fairmount on a freestanding shelf to your left when facing the fireplace. You'll find most of the outdoor education and reluctant reader materials here, as well as a growing variety of other topics relevant to parents and homeschoolers. 
  • at Main in the stacks as you walk toward the teen area from the service desk. You'll find a little bit of everything here. Explore the tabs above for more details.