Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Market Research Web Resources
Think With Google
Consumer insights, marketing resources, advertising channels, reports, data visualization, market trends, and more!
American Fact Finder
Filter census data by income, year, ethnicity/race, etc
Business Dynamics Statistics
The Business Dynamics Statistics (BDS) provides annual measures of business dynamics (such as job creation and destruction, establishment births and deaths, and firm startups and shutdowns) for the economy and aggregated by establishment and firm characteristics. The BDS is created from the Longitudinal Business Database (LBD), a confidential database available to qualified researchers through secure Federal Statistical Research Data Centers. The use of the LBD as its source data permits tracking establishments and firms over time.
BDS data tables show key economic data:
•Employment – job creation and destruction
•Job expansions and contractions
•Number of establishments
•Establishment openings and closings
•Number of startups and firm shutdowns
The BDS series provides:
•Annual statistics for 1976–2014 ◦Age and size of firms and establishments
◦Metro/Non-metro and MSA
◦Standard Industrial Classificatio
"Your window into US Federal Statistics"
FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.
My Best Segments
Claritas' industry-leading consumer lifestyle segmentation yields the richest consumer behavioral information for shopping, financial and technology preferences, media habits (online and offline) and so much more. These powerful consumer segmentation insights enable marketers to:
Gain detailed insights for better market planning, media strategy, customer acquisition, and cross-selling and retention programs
Tailor messages and products that resonate with customers
Group similar segments together to maximize marketing efficiency and reach
Discover who your best customers are and where you can locate similar people
Local Market Research Resources
Market Research Resources
From the Quad Cities Chamber Website:
The Quad Cities Chamber, in partnership with Eastern Iowa Community Colleges, offers access to FREE market research tools to help grow your business.
SizeUp is a custom-developed local business intelligence tool powered by a unique set of real-time databases, compiled to give you the information you need about local market conditions.
• Perform business and industry analyses to gauge how much of your competition you are outperforming
• Create geo-visual lists of your competitors, potential buyers, and vendors
• Assess local market conditions and find the best places to advertise
• Interactively map demographic, labor force, and consumer expenditure data for the region
BIG (Business Information for Growth) *available at the Chamber!
If you want a deeper dive into market research on the Quad Cities region and beyond, come into the Chamber to access BIG. BIG is a collection of high-powered market research databases, including Acculeads, First Research, Hoovers Plus, LoopNet, Panjiva, Plunkett Research, and Reference USA, that gives you access to proprietary business information, global trade data, consumer demographics, and more.
• Create mailing lists that match your customer demographics
•Research a company before your sales call
•Analyze industry trends
•Identify new growth markets
Training takes place every Friday from 9 to 11 a.m. To reserve your spot in an upcoming training, call 563.322.1706.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete
This robust resource provides periodical information for business students and professionals. It presents full-text content, covering topics such as marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Also includes video & image resources!
Business Insights: Essentials
Provides in-depth information on US businesses, industries, and products, including company profiles, business ratings, corporate chronologies, full-text business periodicals, and research reports.
Resources About Marketing Your Business