Skip to Main Content

Comics for All Ages: Marvel


Marvel Comics is the brand name and primary imprint of Marvel Worldwide Inc., formerly Marvel Publishing, Inc. and Marvel Comics Group, a publisher of American comic books and related media. 

Marvel has several characters within their universe. Some are:

  • X-Men (Professor X, Wolverine, Magneto, Deadpool, Mystique, Cyclops, Beast, Phoenix, Nightcrawler, Havok, Storm, Colossus)
  • The Avengers (Thor, Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Captain America, Black Widow, Hawkeye, The Wasp, Quick Silver)
  • GI Joe
  • The Fantastic Four
  • Spider-Man
  • Black Cat
  • Black Panther
  • Daredevil

Current series

Marvel Selects

MARVEL SELECT is an essential Marvel reading list – and the volumes that answer the often-repeated question about Marvel collected editions: “Where do I start!?”

According to Marvel, this line is “a series of graphic novels hand-picked by Marvel Editorial to showcase pivotal storylines and written and drawn by some of Marvel’s most acclaimed creators, MARVEL SELECT provides readers with a collection of entry points into the Marvel Universe. These stand-alone volumes, which also serve as evergreen adventures about Marvel’s most well-known heroes, are perfect for new readers.”

MARVEL SELECT comics owned by Davenport Public Library are:

Other media