Skip to Main Content

Genealogical Research: African American Genealogical Research

Research Guides

Uncovering the Past: African American Genealogy by Cristina Amador-Pérez
Blog post by RSSC Center staff.
Black Genealogy (1977) by Charles L. Blockson
Call Number: SC 929.1 Blo
Guide to Tracing Your African Ameripean Civil War Ancestor (1997) by Jeanette Braxton-Secret
Call Number: SC 973.7415 Bra
ISBN: 0788406728
Black Roots: a Beginner's Guide to Tracing the African American Family Tree (2001) by Tony Burroughs
Call Number: SC 929.1089 Bur
ISBN: 9780684847047
Slave Ancestral Research: It's Something Else (1995) by Mary L. Fears
Call Number: SC 929.2 Fea
ISBN: 0788402005
African American Genealogy Research (2011) by Michael Hait
Call Number: SC 929.1089 HAIT MIC
A Student's Guide to African American Genealogy (1995) by Anne E. Johnson; Adam Merton Cooper; Roger Rosen
Call Number: SC 929.1089 JOHNS ANN
ISBN: 9780897749725
Black Genesis: A Resource Book for African American Genealogy (2003) by James M. Rose; Alice Eichholz
Call Number: SC 929.1 Ros
ISBN: 0806317353
Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your African-American Ancestors (2002) by Franklin Carter Smith; Emily Anne Croom
Call Number: SC 929.1089 SMITH FRA
ISBN: 9781558706057
Finding Your African American Ancestors (2001) by David T. Thackery
Call Number: SC 929.1 Tha
ISBN: 0916489906
Finding a Place Called Home: a Guide to African-American Genealogy and Historical Identity (1999) by Dee Parmer Woodtor
Call Number: SC 929.1089 WOODT DEE
ISBN: 9780375708435
AfriGeneas: African Ancestored Genealogy
Finding Records of Your Ancestors, Part A: African American 1870 to Present by Family History Library

Resources in Other LIbraries and Archives

Collections at the African American Museum of Iowa
Black Family Research: Records of Post-Civil War Federal Agencies at the National Archives (2010)
Call Number: Link to online resource.
African American Family Histories and Related Works in the Library of Congress (1998) by Paul Connor, compiler.
Call Number: Link to online resource.
A Bibliography of African American Family History at the Newberry Library (1993, updated 2005) by Jack Simpson and Matt Rutherford
Call Number: SC 016.929 BIBLI AFR
African American Research at the Allen County (Indiana) Public LIbrary Genealogy Center
Call Number: Link to online resource.
Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society (AAHGS)
Our Black Ancestry by Sharon Leslie Morgan
Center for Family History at the International African American Museum
Midwest African American Genealogy Institute
Black Archives of Mid-America in Kansas City
Roots to Branches
Professional genealogist Ricki King specializes in Iowa and midwest African American family history research.

Records and Indexes

Monroe County, Iowa marriages, African American (2001) by Monroe County Genealogical Society
Call Number: SC 977.7865 Marriage Mon 1900-1929
River Roads to Freedom: fugitive slave notices and sheriff notices found in Illinois sources (1988) by Helen C. Tregillis
Call Number: SC 977.3 Tre
ISBN: 1556131208
Free African Americans of Maryland and Delaware from the Colonial Period to 1810 (2000) by Paul Heinegg
Call Number: SC 975.2 Hei
ISBN: 0806350423
Free African Americans of North Carolina, Virginia, and South Carolina from the colonial period to about 1820 (2001) by Paul Heinegg
Call Number: SC 975.6 Hei v.1 & 2
The Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American Slave Trade Databases
Records of slave-trading voyages.
Last Seen: Finding Family After Slavery
Database of newspaper advertisements placed by formerly enslaved individuals in search of their family members.
Umbra Search: African American History
Database of freely-available digitized materials documenting African American history and cultural life from archives, libraries, museums, and other US repositories.

Genealogies and Collective Biographies

African American Genealogies from 1619 to the Present (2019) by D. C. Stricklin
Call Number: SC 929.2 STRIC
ISBN: 9798605540434
Free People of Colour: Free Negroes, Indians, Portuguese, and Freed Slaves [in Virginia] (2003) by Mary B. Kegley, compiler.
Call Number: SC 929.3 KEGLEY

Last Updated: Sep 2, 2023 10:03 AM
URL: https://libguides.davenportlibrary.com/genealogylinks
Print Page

Subjects: Davenport history, Genealogy

Tags: genealogy, immigration, links, local history, vital records