Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
from our Archive & Manuscript Collections
Digitized photographs from our collection
Military Records from our Collection
Civil War volunteer enlistments, 1862 August-1865 by
Call Number: SC MICROFILM 977.7 CIV
Publication Date: 2008
This collection consists entirely of Civil War volunteer enlistment forms which include the name of the soldier; county and state of birth; age; occupation; date and town of enlistment; physical description; term of service; declaration of the recruit; and signatures of the soldier, mustering officer, and in the cases of minor, the person giving consent. The collection includes forms for soldiers not mustered into U.S. service, including enlistments for men recruited for the 31st Iowa Infantry in Iowa City. The collection does not include any records prior to mid-August, 1862.
Roster and record of Iowa soldiers in the War of the Rebellion : together with historical sketches of volunteer organizations, 1861-1866. by
Call Number: SC 973.7477 ROSTE AND
Publication Date: 200-?
v. 1. 1st-8th regiments, Infantry -- v. 2. 9th-16th regiments, Infantry -- v. 3. 17th-31st regiments, Infantry -- v. 4. 1st-9th regiments, Cavalry, and two independent companies, Cavalry -- v. 5. 32d-48th regiments, Infantry, 1st Regiment African Infantry, and 1st-4th batteries Light Artillery -- v. 6. Miscellaneous
Returns from U.S. military posts, 1800-1916 by
Call Number: SC MICROFILM 355.7 RETUR FROM
Publication Date: 1965
Reel 665. Camp McClellan, Iowa, Apr. 1863-Nov. 1865 --
Reel 1033. Rock Island Arsenal, Ill., Jan. 1869-Dec. 1878 --
Reel 1037. Rock Island Barracks, Ill., Nov. 1863-Aug. 1865 --
Reel 1517. Camp Kearny, Iowa, Dec. 1863-Feb. 1866 --