This guide presents DPL's resources for job-related skills, as well as provides links to job opportunities within the Quad-Cities.
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2016
Eastern Iowa Community Colleges
offers help for veterans and military students looking for information about attending college, how to use their military education benefits, how to turn their military training into credits, as well as informaiton about military discounts and advisors who are trained specifically to help you.
This page concentrates a majority of its resources on helping veterans find jobs and transition out of the military. While there are local resources available, there are also a wide number of federal organizations that are equipped to help with this as well. If you are looking for more information about any of these subjects, please feel free to contact the library for any assistance.
The Quad Cities area encompasses both Iowa and Illinois. As a result, veterans are able to seek help from a wide variety of sources. Federal agencies, as well as state level agencies offer help for veterans looking for help finding jobs. Also be sure to look up your local county's website, as they are sure to have resources gathered for that specific area.
- Hooah! Quad Cities
Hooah! Quad Cities is an organization put together by the Quad Cities Chamber of Commerce that provides information about job opportunities for veterans within the Quad Cities. Click through to find a list of businesses that have signed on to support the hiring of vets, as well as resources for families and a list of veteran services provided.
- Iowa Department of Education
The Iowa Department of Education is the location of the Iowa State Approving Agency and is thus responsible for approving all GI Bill programs. Click through to find more information about approved programs, as well as more education assistance resources and on-the-job training materials.
- Iowa Department of Veterans Affairs
This website provides a variety of information ranging from state specific benefits help to help with finding a job. A list of transitional help resources, as well as the numbers for key organizations who can help are also provided. Pay special attention to the Veterans Employment Services section visible on the front page.
- Illinois Veteran Services
If you live in Illinois, the Illinois Department of Employment Security has compiled a list of job search and research resources available for veterans ranging from partner organizations to searching for jobs to attending job fairs and workshops.
- Scott County Commission of Veterans Affairs
This website has gathered local and federal resources for veterans. They also offer two programs: Veterans Relief and Veterans Services.
- Clinton County Veterans Affairs
- Muscatine County Veterans Affairs
- Directory of Veterans Service Organizations
Looking for information about what veterans service organizations are available for you? This link provides a PDF for you to download that is put together by the Office of the Secretary of Veterans Affairs.
- U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs has put together a list of resources available for veterans looking for employment: VA for Vets, VA Careers, My Career @ VA, Feds Hire Vets, VA Internships, and Digital Service at VA. Click through to visit these different sites.
- Veterans Affairs Resources
The Department of Veterans Affairs has put together a list of specific resources for veterans looking for employment in teaching, construction, healthcare, computers and technology, law enforcement, environment, and welding, plumbing, pipefitting, and sprinkler fitting. A variety of other resources are available from information if you wounded, injured, or disabled, and if you are looking to see what employment services the VA offers.
- Hire Veterans
Hire Veterans is a site aggregate that allows you to find jobs, post resumes, learn about job fairs, and have direct contact with employers.
- The American Legion
The American Legion's Veteran Employment Center allows you to match your military skills to a career, prepare for your transition into civilian life, and find ways to put your military benefits into use. Career advice and job search tips are available here, as well as different resources and tools for veterans to use. Search this site for various veteran jobs that you can limit by area as well.
Military.com is a smaller off-shoot of Monster.com. At this website, you can search for jobs, translate your skills, build and upload your resume, network with other veterans, and look for information to attend various career expos.
- National Guard Job Connection Education Program
This website is put together by the Army National Guard as a way to help Guard and Reserve Service Members and their spouses as they are looking for jobs. JCEP provides counseling, employment assistance, resume review, mock interviews, training, and education assistance.
- Career One-Stop Resources for Veterans
- Learning Express Library is a database that the library subscribes to that contains a specific section of help for veterans looking to find a job.
- You can search this site without needing to create an account, but in order to take any of the courses, you must create a free account. This account allows you track the progress you are making within each course.
- The Career Center contains a list of best careers for veterans, as well as a course that talks about using the skills you learned in the military to your advantage. Find out tips for networking, reworking your resume, marketing yourself to employers, and a number of other topics within the Career Center.