Black Hawk and the Black Hawk War
Black Hawk War, 1831-1832; V.II, letter & papers (archive.org)
Hunting a shadow, the search for Black Hawk; an eye-witness account 973.56 Hun (not in SC)
Lincoln and the Blackhawk War (SC973.56)
Keokuk City Directory for 1856-57 containing a general directory of the citizens, with statistical and other useful local information; also a sketch of the Black Hawk war and history of the half breed tract (SC Fiche 977.799 Cle)
Civil War
U.S. Army Veteran Reserve Corps (Invalid Corps)
– Company Descriptive Book Veteran Reserve Corps 4th Regiment. Company K. (SC355.37 Com)
Camp Roberts/Camp Kinsman (grounds of Annie Witt)
Dakota War/Sioux Uprising in Minnesota-Camp McClellan/Camp Kearney
Outbreak and massacre by the Dakota Indians in Minnesota
Rock Island Arsenal Confederate Prison Camp
Rock Island arsenal: in peace and in war. With maps and illus. Tillinghast, Benjamin Franklin. (SC 353.6 Til)
Diary of Lafayette Rogan-POW at Rock Island Prison Barracks (SC973.782 Rog)
Prisons and Prisoners: A Study of Illinois Civil War Prisons. P. Samuel Whitehead (SC973.77 Whi)
Davenport’s Civil War Rendezvous Camps
Unpublished manuscript on Iowa’s Civil War Camps
Daughters of Union Veterans of Civil War (Acc#1994-02)
August Wentz Post No. 1 Grand Army of the Republic
Ephemera
Under the Guns (Annie Wittenmyer)
Roster and Register of Iowa Soldiers in the War of the Rebellion
Various autobiographies and contemporary accounts
AncestryLibrary subscription database; Fold3 subscription database
John Vale, Davenport resident for years, Congressional Medal of Honor winner in 1897 for actions in 1863 as Private in the Infantry
Iowa Regiments - Enlistment Papers – microfilmed and indexed
WWI
Draft Registration Cards on Ancestry Library and on Microfilm in SC for IA & IL
Fold3 subscription database
WWII/Korea
Oral Histories-additional collateral items
Autobiographies/Memoirs (SC 940.3 to 940.9)
Newspapers
Microfilm of newspaper clippings at SHSI-some online at Iowa Heritage Digital Collections
Diary from Philippines (SC 940.540 Mor)
Hero Street (WWII, Korea) in Silvis, IL
Ladies Industrial Relief Society (Acc#2004-03 finding aid available)
Daycare
Laundry
“Protestant Ethic”
Social welfare
Confidential Exchange
Sophie Toller
Davenport Women’s Club 1900-1995 (Acc#1995-02)
Clionian Club (Iowa Women’s Archives)
Tuesday Club (see ephemera and Acc#1991-04)
Quota Club (see ephemera)
Lend-A-Hand Club (Acc#1989-11)
Dr. Jenny McKowen/McCowen
The Grange (Acc#2004-48 West View Grange, Scott County, Iowa)
Founder Oliver Hudson Kelley lived for a time in our area
1908 (June 12) Grange Field Meet at Wilton, Iowa
materials at IA State and U of I
Mayor Kathy Kirschbaum, first woman mayor of Davenport (1970’s)
Died 14April2005
(Acc#2004-36)
1890’s political scrapbook
League of Women Voters (Acc#2004-40 and 2006-15)
Lois Leach
Mona Martin
Scott County Republican Women 1950-1962
(Acc#1994-06 and ephemera)
Fred Schwengel (1906-1993)
Member Iowa state house of representatives 1944-1954
U.S. Representative from Iowa 1st District 1955-1965, 1967-1973
Davenport businessman 1937-1954
Davenport Civil Rights Commission historical information (Acc#2005-13)
Mary Fluhrer Nighswander (SC 792.092)
Jr. Theatre/Show wagon City of Davenport
Broadway Theatre League (Acc#1997-28, 1999-04)
Adler/RKO Orpheum Theatre (Acc#2001-22, 2004-12)
Early Theater in Eastern Iowa by Joseph S. Schick (SC 792.90777 Sch)
Mississippi River
Floods and Flooding
Acc#1992-10 scrapbook on 1965 flood
Newspapers and clipping books from newspapers
Photographs
Maps of floodplains
Flood studies
Operation Clean Davenport
Ding Darling-artist
Ernest Oberholtzer-photographer, boundary waters
Chad Pregracke, Living Lands and Waters– local activist and environmentalist
John Deere
International Harvester/Case
Caterpillar
Machinists Convention Souvenir Booklet held in Davenport c1911 (ephemera OS)
Photocopy of typed manuscript with editing ca1936 by McNabney (ephemera-Organizations: Labor Unions)
Davenport, Iowa-A Textbook for Manufacturing (ephemera)
The Bettendorf Company
Labor Newsletter 1951-1966 (Acc#1997-01)
Sieg Company (Acc#1996-09)
St. Elizabeth’s Fire at Mercy Hospital
Newspapers
The St. Elizabeth’s Fire SC 977.769 Kub
Mental health clinics and care—Vera French
Chiropractic medicine/clinics
Palmer
German Clinic-Morbonia Hospital
Woman’s Hospital of Davenport, founded 1892 (Dr. Jennie McCowen)
Visiting Nurses
ephemera 1935 show
Sanitariums—
Tuberculosis
Pine Knoll
Benadom-sanitarium and lawsuits, etc.
Hostetler photographs
Legal cases
Advertisements in city directories, atlas, etc.
St. Lukes Hospital & Nursing school
(Accessions #1999-02, 2001-34, X11)
SC 362 Sai, SC 362.11 Phe, SC 378.77 St 1964
Mercy Hospital
SC 362.11 Con and SC 362.11 Ker
photographs
Doctors/midwives
Ledgers
Alternative healing
Mrs. Dr. Keck
The Quack’s Daughter SC 920 NETTL GRE
Movements in healthcare—
Inspections-Board of Health
Schools-Immunizations
Polio
Public Health
City involvement-positions: City Scavenger, Inspectors
Contemporary Club Paper “Public Health and What is Being Done for It” written and presented in 1904
Palmer Chiropractic
Davenport Public (Acc#2004-50)
J. B. Young
Elegius Weingartner
Davenport Parochial
St. Ambrose Academy
Immaculate Conception Academy
Photographs
#2015-22 Caywood
Marycrest College and subsequent names
oral histories
Acc#2002-08
Villa de Chantal
Griswold College
Browns Business College
Mt. Ida Kindergarten-nursery schools
Handicapped-Fairmount Pre-School (Acc#2005-11)
Davenport Nature Club Acc# 1997-14
4-H Club 1830-1970 Acc#1998-11
Music Student’s Club Acc#1997-04
Diary X-08
Camp Fire Girls Acc#2002-05
Virginia Lohmiller (Acc#2003-42)
Iowa Girls HS Athletic Union Programs
Banking in the local area
Municipal Art Gallery – Davenport Art Museum—Figge
Contemporary club papers
Local Authors
Oral Histories
Books on shelves
Park Board/City Department Acc#2003-09
Revitalization of city parks
VanderVeer/Central Park
Hostetler Photos
German:
Turner Society
Ephemera Organizations: Davenport Turngemeinde monthly pub
Concordia Singing Society (Acc#1996-08)
Scheutzen Park
Gold Coast
Auxiliary Turner Society
Irish: Hibernian Hall
Neighborhood=Cork Hill
Latinas-Women who lived in Cook’s Point
Iowa Women’s Archives, University of Iowa
Mexican-Americans on Hero Street in Silvis, IL.
Hero Street USA videorecording DVD 940.5404 Her
New Materials (as of Oct.2006)
Religion:
Jews of the Tri-Cities (Reform Advocate) SC296.0977 Jew
Scott County Sunday School Association Records (Acc#1989-05)
Contemporary Club papers
Zimmerman Steel Co.
Bettendorf Company
Mueller Lumber Company
(Acc#1995-01, 1997-21, 2003-04)
Family history materials-genealogy vertical file
Display board
Lee Enterprises—Adler family
Ephemera—Newspapers
Books on shelf
Iowana Farms (Acc#1997-05, 1998-22)
Chamber of Commerce literature
photographs
“Thousand Days” program 1945 to attract industry to Davenport; State of Scott
Gordon-Van Tine – similar to Sears Homes – i.e. pre-manufactured in “kit” form
Washing machine manufacturers – Voss and White Lily
Palmer College and WOC
WPA, etc projects
Lock and dam #15
Annie Wittenmyer and the Wittenmyer Home formerly Iowa Soldiers and Orphans Home
Acc#1989-07 1950s era scrapbook of photographs
Autobiography Under the Guns (SC 973.7 Wit)
Newspapers
Wittenmyer Home anniversary book
Palimpsest article written by former resident of the home
Bibliography With Love and Concern, Annie Wittenmyer (SC362.73 Bru)
Annual reports to the state
Oral histories of people who lived there as workers/orphans
Bix Beiderbecke, jazz musician
Newspapers
Photographs
Bix Box records and article
Audio recordings
Books
Fejervary family
Celestine - letter from her in LIRS accession
History of her on qcmemory
Nicholas Acc#2003-41, 2005-07
Biographical History and Portrait Gallery of Scott Co, IA (SC977.769 Bio)
Fejervary Park (see Acc#2003-09 Davenport Park & Rec)
Ebeneezer Cook
Biographical History and Portrait Gallery of Scott Co, IA (SC977.769 Bio)
Acc#2005-03 deed
Clarissa Cook
photos
Library
Home for Friendless-new hospice
Deed for Bettendorf (Acc#2005-03)
Alice French, pen name Octave Thanet-local author
Photographs
Family history
Acc#2001-38, 2005-09
Acc#2005-06, 1994-07
Family History on poster in Miscellaneous drawer of map case
Regina Schantz thesis
Biographical History and Portrait Gallery of Scott Co, IA (SC977.769 Bio)
Biographical History and Portrait Gallery of Scott Co, IA (SC977.769 Bio)
Susan Glaspell (Acc#1988-03)
Photographs
Books
Walsh family—People’s Light Company
Map in ephemera
Photographs
E. P. Adler
Newspaper
Lee Enterprises
Banking
Maria Purdy Peck (Mrs. Washington F. Peck)
Husband Dr. Washington F. Peck is in
Biographical History and Portrait Gallery of Scott Co, IA (SC977.769 Bio)
From 1914 Woman’s Who’s Who of America
Founder of St. Luke’s Hospital Training School for Nurses
Author
President Clionian Club
Organizer and first president of Davenport Woman’s Club
Favored woman’s suffrage
Florizel Reuter (aka Florizel von Reuter)
Child prodigy violinist from Davenport-
Hostetler photos
Played all over Europe. Married a European woman and during the war led a sparse existence. Spiritualist. Ended career in Wisconsin.
Newspaper clippings
Jennie McKowen (1845-1924)
1880 to Davenport-Scott County Medical Society
1886 Medical Examiner U of I
1887 founded Working Woman’s Lend-a-Hand Club in Davenport Connected to Davenport Academy of Science (now Putnam Museum)
1892 founded Woman’s Hospital of Davenport
U of I Women’s Archives
Our Lend-a-Hand accession
Mary Louise Duncan Putnam (1832-1903)
1867 development of Davenport Academy of Science (now Putnam Museum)-first woman member, later president
1876 responsible for publication of Proceedings of the Academy, worldwide circulation
Editor of publication in 1881
Inducted posthumously into Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame 1991
Benadoms - photos, court cases, divorces, newspapers
Clinic
Photos
Court cases
Divorces
Newspapers